RSS
Video

Regeneration

13 Jul

Today was my last day as a US-2 at Crossroads Urban Center. We had a great potluck this evening, and it was the perfect sendoff! I made some rockin’ banana pudding and got to say goodbye to a lot of wonderful folks. My dad comes tomorrow and we pack everything up and hit the road for the Great American Roadtrip: Grand Teton, Yellowstone, Mount Rushmore, the source of the Mississippi in Minnesota, Milwaukee, Chicago, and then back south to Baton Rouge. We will most certainly be taking the scenic route! It is going to be epic! And with moving to Washington DC for seminary, there is a lot to look forward to on the horizon.

But.

Every time I move cities (which, to be fair, I have not done a lot of, but still), I can’t help but think of this bit from Doctor Who when David Tennant, the Tenth Doctor, regenerates into the Eleventh Doctor, Matt Smith (for the sake of not posting a bunch of separate videos of all of the doctors regenerating, I am just sticking with the one regeneration for this example). He is still basically the same guy, but he has different friends and different adventures and looks kind of different and wears different clothes. And he cannot un-regenerate. That I am aware of. You never quite know what the writers will think of next, but that is not germane to this discussion!

And so with moving and starting school and everything, I see it as a regeneration of sorts for me. Granted, I do not think I will start shooting golden light out of my hands and changing faces or hair (still won’t be ginger!) when the minivan passes the Salt Lake City limits, but I will be with new friends and having all sorts of new adventures. And I will not be able to un-regenerate into the Marjorie who is the US-2 at Crossroads Urban Center in Salt Lake City, Utah. Which is a good thing, but I do understand the Tenth Doctor’s reaction of “I don’t want to go!”

Which in a way, is very good. It means I have made friends and done a lot of wonderful things while out here, but it also means that I will miss having zany conversations with my amazing coworkers and walking to the best dadgum library in the country and looking up every day to see the gorgeous mountains!

In short: it has been a wonderful two years here. They certainly zoomed right on by! I hope the next two are even better and I look forward to seeing what Marjorie, the seminary student in Washington, DC will be like!

PS: I still can’t get over how weird it is that I won’t be living in a state next year. Crazy!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on July 13, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a comment